2013: The Trails Beacon

I’ve liked riding dirt on road bikes for a while: blame Grant.  I’ve done it with lots of people and enjoyed coming upon a group of riders on full suspension MTBs and kinda smugly shrugging that we rode on the same trails.  While “gravel biking” garners chache by the mainstream industry, living in Southern California, a bona-fide mountain bike sure is fun over the rocky, technical trails.

Screen shot 2012-12-22 at 8.28.15 AM

I’ve long admired the Moots YBB for its craft and simplicity – the “soft tail” harkened back to my rigid MTB days in college.  So, when I found one on the local Craigslist in the summer, I dove in.  This one came with a Rohloff, Hope brakes, Moots post and stem, Chris King headset and front hub, and some nice tires for a complete bike.  More bling than I was looking for, but I’ll take it.

The problem is that I’ve taken it out 4 times since then, as work has intensified with new responsibilities.  90% of my riding this fall was the commute to and from work.  So, for the new year, I’d like to get this bike out more.  And get regular fitness riding in.  We’ll see how it goes.

2 comments

  1. Paleo Velo

    Dude—all I gotta say is, either you either make excuses to MTB or not to MTB. If I can manage it, so can you! Then again, the wife and I may have a different modus vivendi.

Leave a Reply

