Riding Dirt; Again

IMG_3719

I dig city and country riding. Everyday errands and jaunts along the ocean, on chaparral fire roads, and on paths come alive on a bike. Mountain biking became huge while I was in college, and I lost many nights sleep over the $250 I would drop on a GT mtb in 1992 – I don’t remember the model. But that was my ride in college.

San Clemente Canyon, which runs East-West from La Jolla to Miramar, was my singletrack fix back then. Its about 12 miles from home, and has some bumps, river rocks, creek crossings, and some nice descents. I finally took the Rawland out for an afternoon and both enjoyed myself, and woke up the next morning with unexpected soreness. Maybe some poison oak, too.

IMG_3735

IMG_3737

IMG_3747

We might not have a forest in the middle of the city, and our native trees aren’t very tall anyway, but we do have a wonderful network of canyons running right through the heart of the city. The canyons are filled with wildlife and chaparral, and a bike ride or a hike can evoke the feeling of separation from urbanity, even as the freeway noise interrupts such thoughts.

2 comments

  1. Antoine

    Your bike looks fabulous and some nice countryside up there by the look of it.

    I got into mountainbiking about the same time but I’ve got a few years on you.

    You sure do use some extra muscles when riding off-road. I find riding a singlespeed/fixed-gear around town helps with all the standing and moving around on the bike involved.

Leave a Reply

