Riding Extremes

I have a post brewing about how we live in a culture of extremes… but for now, I thought I’d post about extremes in a different way.

This last weekend, a couple of friends and I participated in the AdventureCorps Death Valley Century/Double Century, starting in Furnace Creek and riding generally up to Scottys’ Castle and into Nevada. I was only prepared for 120 miles, while my friends did the full double.

This is a land of extremes – lowest point, hottest, and driest place in the United States. And it was strikingly beautiful.

This kind of long distance riding also puts your body to extremes, calling for massive influxes of sugars, salt, protein and water. But there’s quite a pay off in the suffering – and I can’t wait to do it again.

DSC00455
DSC00456
DSC00458
DSC00472
DSC00477

Leave a Reply

