Christmas Eve 2014 Ride

Screen Shot 2015-01-04 at 2.21.39 PM

Manny organized a sloppy trail ride in the Oakland hills on Christmas Eve morning (if that makes sense). We were headed to family festivities in the late afternoon, so I made an early morning car-run to the start at the excellent Timeless Coffee on Piedmont on a dreary, lovely, wet morning.

As I was packing for this trip to the Bay Area, I took the Black Sheep down from its hanging position in the garage, changed the two flats it had from the last time I rode it, prepped some other things I may write about later, and rode it down the street. The Paul Moto-lite BMX brakes need to be set up with new cables, and a squeaky, rubbing ride is not the best thing to bring on a tightly-packed trip. So it was the Pelican for do-all Christmas vacation duty. Given the 32s I have on that bike, I decided to ride with the group up to the top of Skyine and go my own paved way as they made it through the mud. This Hunq was pretty rad:

Screen Shot 2015-01-04 at 2.02.11 PM

It was a nice climb up and I had some good conversations, although I can’t remember many names. Fun stuff. I’ll have the Black Sheep with me next time. Every ride I’ve done with Manny and had to leave early, he later remarked “That was smart.” Same thing this time.

4 comments

Leave a comment